Learn how to compete in Apex Legends Ranked, how matchmaking works, and how to earn Ranked Points (RP).

What is Ranked mode Apex Legends matchmaking How does ranking work Entry costs Ranked scoring Rewards Rank resets Can’t invite friends

Ranked is a competitive mode that lets you play with other players at a similar rank. You need to be Level 20 or higher to access it.

Over time, you can rank up and play in higher tiers. During Ranked Seasons, you can also earn rewards based on your rank. Your rank will reset at the start and around halfway through each Season.

Matchmaking is based on your rank. When you start playing Ranked, you’ll begin at the bottom tiers and work your way up to higher difficulties. Matches will feel harder once you reach the rank you usually are. Learn more about matchmaking updates here.

If you play Apex Legends on different platforms (for example, on both PC and console) you’ll progress through Ranked separately on each platform.

This means you could be Bronze ranked on one platform but Gold on another.

For more info on playing Apex Legends on different platforms, check out our Cross Progression article.

Each rank is split into four divisions—for example, Bronze IIII, Bronze III, Bronze II, and Bronze I. To progress through these divisions, you need to earn Ranked Points (RP). You’ll get RP based on your performance within a Ranked game.

The amount of RP you need to get to the next division increases as you become a higher rank. To get to the next division of each rank, you need to earn:

  • Rookie: 250 RP
  • Bronze: 500 RP
  • Silver: 600 RP
  • Gold: 700 RP
  • Platinum: 800 RP
  • Diamond: 900 RP.

This means you’ll need to get 500 RP to level up from Bronze II to Bronze I.

What are the Apex Legends ranks?

  • Bronze.
  • Silver.
  • Gold.
  • Platinum.
  • Diamond.
  • Master.

Once you’re Master rank, you can earn the title of Apex Predator. Apex Predators are the top 750 players per platform in the Master rank.

What is the Rookie tier?

The Rookie tier is an introductory tier for new players to learn about Ranked mode. It doesn’t have any rewards tied to it and it’s a safe space to get you up and running in Battle Royale.

How do I earn Ranked Points?

You earn Ranked Points (RP) for: 

  • how many players you kill 
    • The higher you place in a match, the more each of your kills will be worth.
  • your skills, like killing stronger players or getting a streak of top five placements
  • where you place in a match. You get more RP for higher placements.

You don’t get RP for heals or revives—only assists and kills.

Each Ranked match costs RP to enter, and you’ll earn RP back when you place in the top half in a match. Match entry cost increases depending on the rank that you're currently in:

  • Rookie/Bronze: 0 RP
  • Silver: 20 RP
  • Gold: 40 RP
  • Platinum: 60 RP
  • Diamond: 80 RP
  • Master/Predator: 100 RP.

Why did I end a match with fewer Ranked Points than I started?

Because of the RP cost of entering a match, you could end up with fewer points than you started.

Scoring RP in Apex Legends is determined by a combination of placement, eliminations, and bonuses, which are based on skill.


Refers to the position your team finished in out of the 20 teams that entered the game. You score more points the higher your team places.


You get Elimination bonuses when you kill other players. We use your personal individual kills and assists to calculate your rewards.

  • A kill or assist counts as one kill.
  • If your team kills another player without you doing any damage to that player, you’ll earn half a kill. This is called a participation value.
  • The value of each of your kills, assists, and participations is based on your final placement. The higher you place, the more each kill is worth.
  • After you have more than 6 kills, the value of each kill, assist, and participation you make is halved.


You get an RP bonus when your team eliminates a higher-ranked opponent or are on a placement streak.

  • If you kill a player who's a higher rank than you, you’ll get an extra 50% of that final kill value as a bonus. Your placement determines the final value of your kills.
  • You get bonuses when you’re on a streak of top five placements.
    • For example, the second time you place in the top five in a row, you’ll get 10 RP. For the third time, you’ll get 20 RP, for the fourth time, you’ll get 30 RP and for the fifth time, you’ll get 40 RP.
    • If you keep your streak after five games, you’ll get 40 RP each time.
    • If you place lower than the top 5, you’ll have to restart your streak.

Heads-up that scoring may change with every new Season, so be sure to stay up to date with the latest Apex news.

At the start of the next Season, you’ll get the rewards associated with the highest rank you achieved. We’ll use your highest rank from both splits and all platforms.

Rank resets happen twice per season: once at the start, and once at the announced split for the Season. When your rank resets at the start of this Season, your progress will be fully reset back to 1 RP. The split for the Season is not a full reset of RP, but a partial reset. The split reset amount may vary from Season to Season.

You’ll also get end-of-Season rewards based on the highest tier you achieved during the Season.

Players ranked Platinum or higher can only party with friends who are one tier higher or lower than them. This is to prevent boosting and to keep the competition fair.

Players of any rank can make a premade squad for Trios in Ranked. You’ll be matched against other squads using the highest RP value in your premade squad.

In Duos, you’ll be matched based on the highest RP value in your squad, but rank restrictions between teammates apply.

If you want more info about the rules in Apex Legends, read more here.

Was this article helpful?

0% of 0 players found this article helpful.



Not what you were looking for? Try searching again.

Was this article helpful?

0% of 0 players found this article helpful.