Help us improve EA Help! Take Survey No, Thanks
MENU MENU

Want to close your EA Account? Learn the differences between deactivating it and deleting it.

You can’t deactivate or delete your EA Account by yourself. You’ll have to talk to one of our advisors.

Account deactivation keeps your account in our systems and your progress is retained, but you won’t be able to use it or log into it unless you decide to reactivate. Account deletion, on the other hand, removes access to your games, and you won’t be able to use any linked platform accounts on another EA Account.

We will not delete any account that has been banned. To delete your EA Account, you’ll first need to appeal your ban.

  • You might deactivate your account if you want to take a break from gaming or if you have a Pogo or Star Wars™: The Old Republic (SW:TOR) account.
  • If you want to stop using EA products and services completely, then you may want to delete your account instead.

Deactivate account

  • You can't log in or play games with your EA Account while it's deactivated.
  • Any platform accounts you’ve connected to your EA Account, like your Xbox Gamertag or PlayStation Network Online ID, will remain linked to the account.
  • Your Answers HQ posts and usernames will still be visible, you just won’t be able to edit or delete them.
  • You’ll still get any transaction or marketing emails you opted in to, like notifications about upcoming games.
  • You can ask us to reactivate your account at any time. Get back in touch with us and once we verify ownership of your account, we’ll get you back into the game.

Delete account

  • You will not be able to use any platform accounts (e.g., Playstation, Xbox, Nintendo, etc.) connected to your account on another account. If this is why you’re requesting a deletion, let us know so we can help you another way.
  • You will lose access to entitlements, games, subscriptions, and in-game purchases associated with your account.
  • You won’t be able to access any EA games downloaded or purchased on Steam or Epic, since they are connected to your EA Account.
  • You’ll be removed as a user from all EA Forums, and if you’ve posted on an EA Forum, we will either delete your forum name or the posts themselves. If you have an EA Forum account that doesn’t use your EA Account credentials to login, such as a SWTOR Forum account, then you will need to make a separate request to delete those.
  • If you’re playing an EA game on Facebook, you'll need to go to Apps and Websites in your Facebook Settings to remove any EA apps.
  • If you have an EA Play subscription on your console, you’ll need to contact Microsoft or Sony to cancel it.
  • Any Terms of Service violations that may be associated with your games or account will remain.

Deleting your mobile account is permanent across all devices. We won’t be able to recover your in-game items or your progress in any games linked to the account. It also means you won’t be able to recover your account on a different iOS or Android device.

Please read this entire section before deleting your account.

If you play our mobile games on an Apple or Google device, you may be able to delete your game account by tapping the Delete My Account button in the in-game settings menu.

If you tap this button, it starts an automatic deletion process that we can’t undo.

Deleting your account means:

  • You lose access to all games on your account.
  • You lose all progress in your games.
  • You lose any items you’ve bought in-game.
  • You lose access to any subscription services on your account.
  • You won’t be able to recover your progress on any new device you use.

Deleting your mobile account does not cancel any recurring subscription payments you have set up on it. If you have active subscriptions on your account, contact Apple or Google to cancel them.

We may, where required, keep some data from your account to meet legal or regulatory requirements (like paying taxes or enforcing our terms), or to maintain the security and integrity of our systems, and to ensure the rights and freedoms of others (including EA).

None of the data we retain can be used to restore your account, your games or your progress.

If you want to close your Codemasters account or request that we delete your Codemasters account data:

  1. Click Help and Support.
  2. Select Data Privacy as your game and choose the type of request you’d like to make.
  3. Follow the instructions on-screen.

⚠️ If you have a Codemasters account and an EA Account, you’ll still need to contact us for help with your EA Account.

If you want to close your Playdemic account or request that we delete your Playdemic account data:

  1. Visit HelpShift and raise a ticket.
  2. Select Account as the ticket category, then select Privacy Request.

⚠️ If you have a Playdemic account and an EA Account, you’ll still need to contact us for help with your EA Account.

Follow the steps here to request your Glu data or to delete your Glu account.

⚠️ If you have a Glu account and an EA Account, you’ll still need to contact us for help with your EA Account.

Deleting your EA Account will permanently break your Pogo or SW:TOR account. We cannot restore Pogo or SW:TOR accounts when this happens, so we recommend you keep your account active or temporarily deactivate it.

If you want to use these accounts still, we suggest you either keep your EA Account active or deactivate it, rather than delete it.

Why do I have an EA Account if I’m just playing Pogo or SW:TOR?

EA Accounts keep everything in one place. Learn more about how this affects your Pogo account or your SW:TOR account.

If you want to regain access to your account once we’ve deleted it, you may be able to reset the password to get back in. You’ll only be able to do this if you haven’t already created another EA Account using the same email address that was on the account when it was deleted.

If you’ve already made a new account, you can change the email address on that account to reset the password for the deleted one.

Things to know

  • It can take two to three hours before you regain access to your account.
  • Even though you can recover your account, we can’t guarantee you’ll get everything back that you had.

Here’s what you can get back:

  • Games
  • Entitlements
  • DLC
  • Game progress and stats (PC players only)
  • Ultimate Teams (PC players only)
  • Purchase history information
  • Any platform accounts that were attached to the EA Account
  • Any in-game currency that was on the account (PC players only)

Here’s what you won’t get back:

  • Any payment methods that were previously attached to the account
  • Login Verification, if you had it enabled
  • EA Play memberships and other subscriptions (if you had any)
  • Any mobile game information

Why can deleted accounts be restored?

When we process an account deletion request, we permanently delete your account information from our customer services databases, and we de-identify the balance of your account and gameplay information in case you changed your mind and wanted to recover your account later.

To protect the privacy and security of your account information, only you can recover your account with a password reset. This isn’t something we can do for you. If you would like to permanently delete your account and associated information, we can complete a Right To Be Forgotten request for you.

You may also have the right to have your EA Account and all associated data permanently deleted. For EU residents, this is known as The Right To Be Forgotten.

To exercise this right, please contact us using the button below. Select Data Privacy as the Category and Delete my data as the Issue, and mention “Right to be Forgotten” when you connect with an advisor. This will be permanent and you will not be able to recover your account or data after it has been completed.

Contact Us

Was this article helpful?

0% of 0 players found this article helpful.

 

 

Related content

Was this article helpful?

0% of 0 players found this article helpful.

 

 

X